Let the Games Begin!

The Hunger Games trailer debuted this morning! I’ve watched it four times already πŸ˜€

It looks like it’s going to be AHHHHHHHHHSOME.

Want to hear something lame? I actually choked a little when Katniss ran after Prim! Jennifer Lawrence, I take back every bad thing I said about you, including the bit about how I thought Emily Browning would have been better for the role. I’d forgotten you were Oscar-nominated for your role in Winter’s Bone. Judging from the trailer, your portrayal of our beloved Katniss was pretty on-point. Thank you.

P.S. I’m not mad at you for ruining parts of X-Men: First Class anymore.

One thing that inexplicably irked me: Katniss’ jacket is supposed to be her father’s old hunting jacket, not something that came off the Elizabeth and James’ runway.

Anyway, this weekend while we were in Dallas, I finished reading the trilogy and I felt a wee bit sad it was over. The trailer for the movie is just what I needed. In fact, before heading through security I purchased a copy of the current issue of Vanity Fair which features a photo of The Hunger Games’ cast. Unfortunately, there’s only one picture but at leastΒ  it’s something.

We arrived at the airport early and the wifi is only $4 for two hours so I figured, what the heck. I’ll take pictures of the spread and post it on my blog while paying our car insurance bill. You’re welcome.

From left to right: Clove, Marvel, Foxface, Thresh, and Glimmer.

From left to right: Cato, Rue, Peeta, Katniss, and Gale.

I’m not sure why they decided to include minor characters such as Marvel and Glimmer and not Cinna, Effie, or Haymitch. I was disappointed that the photo is so stylized; it would have been better if they were dressed in character. I think it takes away from the film, which I was pleasantly surprised to find is as gritty as I’d imagined. The trailer is, anyway. I hope they don’t give these minor characters bigger parts than Suzanne Collins did. Even if Marvel (Jack Quaid) is the son of Dennis Quaid and Meg Ryan.

The trailer will play during the previews for The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn: Part 1. There have been a lot of comparisons made between Twilight and The Hunger Games. One thing I loved about both books was that the authors wanted to preserve the innocence of their characters instead of romanticizing teenage lust. Edward Cullen was adamantly against pre-marital sex. After Gale told Katniss he loved her, she didn’t reciprocate because she didn’t feel that way about him. Hollywood of course, ruined Twilight for everyone with the Bella and Edward make out scenes. But there is still hope for The Hunger Games. I really hope they didn’t sexualize the main characters just to get people to watch the movie. People will watch the movie no matter what; there’s no need to cheapen Katniss, Peeta, and Gale.

Let the games begin! I’m so excited πŸ˜€

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

8 responses to “Let the Games Begin!

  1. Wow the trailer actually looks better than I expected. I am actually excited for this now πŸ˜€ Thanks for sharing!

  2. kim

    Yay! I’m so exited! I pictured Thresh bigger. Rue and Prim are so cute! The trailer looks fantastic! Wish it was coming out sooner…

  3. I teared up when she stepped in for Prim too! I can’t wait to see the movie. So you finished the books?! Did you like how they ended? Like I said before, I didn’t particularly like where they took the story but I still really enjoyed them all anyway.

    • I couldn’t imagine how it would end, since the whole time Katniss was still torn between Gale and Peeta or not liking either. That being said, I really liked how it ended – Collins is such a great writer. I almost cried in several parts of all three books. I’m reading the first book again!

      • Good idea I should definitely read it again before I see the movie! I guess what I didn’t like (WARNING: spoiler alert for anyone else reading this!) was how they made Peeta hate Katniss for a while in the last book. It just really broke my heart b/c he had loved her sooo much and now suddenly he wanted her dead?! It made it interesting for sure, and in the end it all worked out and Collins finished the story quite nicely, but for a while I was just so frustrated I could barely keep reading (not really b/c it was too good to put down but still)! Haha I sometimes feel for the characters in a good story like they are my friends, so I get kind of emotional about them πŸ˜› I’m glad you liked them!

  4. Awww… I actually thought Katniss was heartless for not making more of an effort to be there for Peeta. He’d been tortured 😦 Lol, I love how we’re getting so into this!

    • Aww! Haha we are too funny! It is interesting hearing how someone else looked at the story. I definitely felt for Peeta b/c he was such a great, loving, protective, sincere guy… I just wanted them to fall easily in love and live happily ever after I guess, and then all that happened and I was thinking what the heck?! But I also liked Gale and that was her TRUE love and who she was meant to be with, that is until Peeta came along… So I totally understood her struggle. I hope the movie stays close to the story from the book, I will be disappointed if they start taking “creative allowances”!

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
