Yelp’s House Party to Fight Hunger

Last Tuesday, I attended my first Yelp house party for the NY Coalition Against Hunger with my partner in crime, Helene. It was dubbed as an “Alterna Office Party” and we were encouraged to wear ugly office clothes. I love Yelp, but they need to hire new party planners.

The Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory served mini cones. Score. Momo Sushi Shack, Scottadito Osteria Toscana, and Brooklyn Brewery provided hors d’oeuvres (WOW, it just took me 3 minutes to spell that) and beverages. We entertained ourselves by getting nerdy in the BK Booth. Fun. Side note: I was wearing 5 inch platform booties. Helene wore flat-bottomed boots… yeah, I’m a midget.

Since this was clearly a fancy party, there had to be swag. I picked up a Yelp key chain, lip balm, and nail file. They also had these “Blood, Sweat, and Yelp” sweat bands that I decided were too hardcore for me, but not for Helene.

Usually, I feel awkward at parties and don’t know what to do with myself. Since we’re not big drinkers and the food was meh, after about 40 minutes, we were partied out. Then it was sushi, girl talk, and in bed by 11. What can I say, we party hard. All in all, fun times and a good cause.

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
