Epic Girl Date

Side note: This is El Taco’s 100th post! Woohoo!

This past weekend, my girl Helene and I hit up the Salvation Army Coat Sale. We got in around 10:30. Fortunately, there was no line to get in.

It was pretty crowded once we got in since there was no one outside to regulate the amount of people entering. I was a bit overwhelmed at first but soon fell into step with Helene and we combed over each rack. If you’re planning on attending the coat sale (future dates posted here), try to bring a friend if you can.

Sadly, the furs had been pillaged by the time we got there. The only evidence there were any furs at all was a lone ripped coat, hanging dejected amidst the leathers. The bags too. There were slim pickings in that section; mostly ratty old synthetics that belonged in the trash. It was that bad. Shoes were kept together with rubber bands but despite that there were random boots everywhere. I saw a grimy old Marc Jacobs rain boot. Yucky.

Wool coats such as trenches and pea coats were also hard to find. The ones I found were in poor condition. There was an abundance of leather trenches and jackets though, which suited us just fine since that’s what we were looking for.

Within minutes, Helene picked out an Elizabeth and James navy leather cropped swing jacket. Amazing! She also found a black leather Gap hoodie for me. It was perfect. I was close to buying a brown leather vest too but it didn’t fit quite right and it wouldn’t have been worth it to alter it.

Each jacket set us back a mere $30. Hooray!

I’ve been looking for a great leather jacket for a long, long time. I’ve tried on countless styles made by countless designers and would have been much more than $30.

The trip out to the Salvation Army in Midtown West was definitely worth it for what we got. However, it doesn’t seem like they restock throughout the day like Housing Works, so if you get there late (I would estimate anytime after 11 would fall into this category) there might not be much left.

My Salvation Army Coat Sale Experience in a Nut Shell

  • Great experience. If you’re curious, go!
  • Don’t go expecting to definitely find a winter coat though. Again, the best selections were the leathers. I hardly saw any parkas and the wool coats I saw were in bad condition.
  • In general, the stuff at Salvation Army seems dirtier than what I got at Housing Works. Be sure to research costs of dry cleaning coats – that is a must. If you find the cost to be high, it might not be worth it to buy used.
  • Don’t expect to hit the jackpot in the shoe or bag departments. They had a really lame selection.

After spending about 2 hours at the coat sale, we went upstairs to the regular Salvation Army thrift store. There were some cute pieces but they were pretty overpriced – $13 for a pleather clutch and $12 for a basic sweater. Our rule is that if you can buy it new for that price, why bother buying it used? We stopped by another thrift store in the area, but it was $$$ central over there so we booked it quick.

Then it was ramen time! Woohoo, ramen. 😀

A quick search using my beloved Yelp app directed us to Sapporo in the Theater district. I didn’t have high hopes for food in that area but the place had a decent 3.5 star rating and only one $ sign. We took a chance and it paid off in the form of hot broth, crisp veggies, and ramen noodles (plus pork for me).

I had the Sapporo special while Helene went for the veggie ramen. Both were quite tasty. To be honest, I liked it more than Ippudo. Did I just say something profane? Sorry. The service was fast and friendly. The final tab for two bowls of ramen was $23, tipped included. Not bad!

After that, we met up with a friend and headed to the Jewelry District. I specifically wanted a chunky silver ring with a black stone. Victory! I bought two for $8 🙂

I wore one today.

I spied these funky necklace /halter vests on display at one store. Crazy, huh? I mean, I would have bought one but I already have two… hehe. 😀

After 40 minutes of jewelry shopping we needed another break, so we walked over to nearby Paris Baguette in K-Town upon Helene’s recommendation. Apparently, this is a popular bakery chain in Korea. They have a plethora of baked goods – more decadent and variety than a Chinese bakery – and drinks. I had the strawberry smoothie. It was refreshing but too bad it took 10 minutes to make… even though I saw the girl cut open a bag of frozen smoothie mix and toss it into a blender. That’s all she had to do – 10 minutes? No entiendo. Helene ordered a hot chocolate and saw home girl open a packet of Swiss Miss! For $3.50? That’s just wrong. At least in Sunset Park, they’ll only charge you $1.

Then, we took the train to SoHo. Are you feeling the “epic” portion of this girl date by now? This was around 5:00 already. Word of advice – never, ever go shopping in SoHo on a Saturday night. It’s like a retail mosh pit. Fitting room lines go on until infinity. Lines to pay wrap around the store. We only went to two stores in the two and a half hours we shopped there. On the bright side, Helene picked out an awesome skirt for me to rock at a party this week ($28) and I finally got a leopard print scarf. For $12. 😀

But we’re not done yet. This wouldn’t be an epic girl date unless we went back to Brooklyn and had a double date. So, we went from 10:30 am to around 11:30 pm. That’s stamina, people.

I love girl dates.

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
