Birchbox, Dos

So despite my disappointing initial Birchbox experience, I decided to keep the subscription and give it another go.

Bad choice.

The November box arrived today and I couldn’t be more disappointed. Let’s take a look inside my sad half empty box.

  • Harvey Prince Eau Flirt – Smells like something Britney Spears concocted.
  • Supersmile Professional Whitening Toothpaste – This is actually useful since we’re going to Dallas this weekend. However, I could have purchased one for $1.50. Sure, it wouldn’t have been a whitening toothpaste but really, who cares?
  • Zoya Nail Polish in Holly – Admittedly, this is a cute color. But it’s tiny and I don’t need new polish.
  • Chuao Chocolatier Firecracker Chocopod – This was awesome! It’s a piece of dark chocolate that’s spicy and filled with popping candy.
  • Anastasia Beverly Hills HydraFull Gloss in Sugar Pink – I wouldn’t know because IT WASN’T IN THE BOX. 😦

I canceled my membership. That missing lip gloss was the straw that broke the camel’s back. Honestly, I never wear lip gloss and I don’t even like the Anastasia brand but still! $10 for that?

In all honesty, their samples are high quality items. I was a bit harsh with my initial evaluation of my first Birch Box. This was what I got:

  • Two packets of Oribe shampoo and conditioner samples. I originally reviewed these as lame but they turned out to be magical for my hair. The downside is that Oribe products are sold at Bergdorf Goodman for $30-40 per bottle. So while I loved using the samples, the chances are slim that I’ll purchase them full-size.
  • Befine lip exfoliator. As a lip balm addict, my lips are never chapped. So I gave it to a friend.
  • Caudalie night cream. There’s nothing special about this cream. I haven’t noticed any kind of change in my skin. Lame rating stands.
  • Laura Geller Spackle Tinted Primer. This wasn’t bad since I did need a primer. It’s sheer and the bronze color is subtle. I’d never buy it full size though – I already know which primers are for me.
  • Orofluido hair oil. Originally rated as lame but came out as the surprise hero. It’s light and absorbs quickly. It also smells pleasant. I don’t have to much use for it, but on days I need a bit of oomph, I believe it achieves that.

Here are some Birchbox pros:

  • High quality products
  • Cute packaging
  • Getting a little present every month is fun 🙂

Now, onto the cons:

  • Not enough samples. The box is half-empty. I’d suggest using a smaller box to help with the empty feeling.
  • Missing sample.
  • Not worth $10 monthly, $110 annually (yikes!)
  • Not into every product.

Birchbox was fun while it lasted. The $10 is better spent on this delicious chocolate 😉

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

One response to “Birchbox, Dos

  1. Pingback: Birchbox Update « El Taco

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
