The Hunger Games

Kim and I just started reading The Hunger Games. I’m enthralled; In fact, I spent three hours reading in bed today, using my Kindle holder 😀

I love reading anything in the science fiction or fantasy genre. Ever since I read Brave New World in high school, I’ve been hooked. Imagining whole new worlds and societies with completely different social customs, ethics, morals, and values has always been so fascinating to me. I always imagine myself as a bystander, observing events as they unfold. I love pretending I’m character in each of my favorite books. Some things you just never grow out of.

The Hunger Games is fraught with action and theme of overcoming injustice and tyrannical oppression and authenticity amidst superficiality. Deep. Suzanne Collins constantly writes about food (well, the title says it all) – its abundance to one small part of the country while in other parts or districts, people are dying of starvation. Imagine a world where people live with so much while other people live with little or nothing. Sounds a lot like the world we live in right now.

Anyway, naturally, the movie is coming out in March. I’m having serious issues with their casting choices; most notably, Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss. First of all, Katniss is a courageous, self-effacing individual who is pragmatic, athletic, and thoughtful. I just don’t see Lawrence being deep enough to fill this role. She looks so… Hollywood. In an Angelina Jolie as Lara Croft sort of way. No bueno. I thought she was awful as young Mystique on X-Men: First Class. I sincerely thought she brought the movie down every time she was in a scene. Hopefully the movie survives this casting.

All poster images from here.

I think Elizabeth Banks will be great as Effie though. And Woody Harrelson as Haymitch. That’s it. I’ve never heard of the girl they cast to play Rue.

They could have done better with the male casting as well. Does anyone else think Peeta and Cato look like the same guy? I find these actors to be generic-looking.

Katniss, Peeta, and Gale look like a low rent Bella, Edward, and Jake. Sorry, but someone had to say it. Just look at their Vanity Fair photo shoot. You’re right Jennifer Lawrence, The Hunger Games is not Twilight.

Personally, I thought Emily Browning of A Series of Unfortunate Events and most recently/unfortunately, Sucker Punch, would be perfect. Whatever – she’ll always be Katniss to me. 😛

I’m still pretty excited to see the movie though. 😀

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

4 responses to “The Hunger Games

  1. I read those a little over a year ago and really enjoyed them. Though, I thought the first one was the best and they got worse rather than better as they went on. They were all still good though and worth reading! I just didn’t like where they took the story, I guess. How far along are you?? I am excited to see the movies too. I agree, on the posters at least, Peeta and Cato look the same! That is not AT ALL what I pictured for Peeta. They did a good job with Gale though, if you ask me. And I pictured an overweight sloppy drunk guy to play Haymitch, not a dashing Woody Harrelson! But that was just my imagination I am sure Woody will be wonderful 🙂 Sorry this comment is much longer than I intended! No one else I know has read and enjoyed these books so it is nice to have someone to chat with about it 😛

    • I agree – I love chatting about books! 🙂 I haven’t read the other two but I will probably start this week. I’m hoping the actors will bring the characters to life and prove me wrong. What other books have you read that you can recommend?

      • I’m constantly reading, I could probably recommend a million books! Do you have a certain genre that you like best? I usually like more realistic stories and non-fiction, but lately after reading The Hunger Games and Twilight series I realized I like the exact opposite of that as well. One book that I read years ago sort of explores a world of “completely different social customs, ethics, morals, and values” like you said. It’s called The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. Another one that comes to mind is The Giver by Lois Lowry. That is a book I was made to read in middle school so it’s not too terribly complex and it’s not very long, but still a really different concept and interesting. I literally have a bookshelf full of great books so if you need any more suggestions I’d be happy to help, and please let me know if you read anything new that is worth sharing! 🙂

  2. Kim

    LOL, love the kindle holder. Yeah I pictured peeta and haymitch bigger too .. Haha you’re right the vanity fair pics look so much like Bella Edward and Jacob. Cant wait for the movie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
