Salvation Army Coat Sale

I’m getting ready for my second thriftastic adventure – the Salvation Army coat sale.

You guys, this is going to be epic. It’s supposed to be so crazy, it’s kah-ray-zay. We’re talking Running of the Brides mad rushing to snatch up furs and leathers for sale from $8 to $50. They also have bags for $2! I am somewhat of a bag snob and I’m excited to see what the world of thrift has to offer me in this area of fashion. So far, all I’ve seen are moldy synthetics and counterfeit Coach bags.

This Saturday, Helene and I will be lining up outside of the Salvation Army in Hell’s Kitchen on West 46th Street. The doors open at 9 am, but lines start as early as 8 am. Here’s the game plan –

  • No liquids. Breakfast but no liquids so we don’t have to pee while waiting.
  • Suit up. I plan to wear my hardcore shopping uniform – leggings, sweater tunic, cross body bag, and warm coat. Side note: My coat was my little sister’s hand-me-down that I’ve been wearing for three years. That’s just wrong.
  • Collaborate. Go over sizes and most desired items so we can help each other score deals.
  • Make friends. Good shopping karma never hurts.

Thrifting has really changed my view about shopping. I’d previously shared my past history as a shopaholic. I’ve been shopping my closet, altering clothing to make it look better and fit better, and shopping sales. I thought I’ve been making progress in the shopping department. The Buy the Bag sale has really opened my eyes to my budget and fashion options.

Recently I purchased a few items from Macy’s – rain boots, a new scarf, and fleece boot liners (this was due to the snow on Saturday – I was so unprepared!). I only bought stuff that I’m not comfortable buying secondhand. I didn’t really look at cardigans, coats, or pants because I want to see what I can thrift. Seriously, it’s tough for me to buy retail now when I bought 19 items for $25. Side note: I’ve worn most of the items that I purchased, received compliments on them, and wowed people by telling them the price.

The thing I love most about thrifting is that I don’t feel guilty about shopping!

It’s gotten to the point where I turn my nose up at regular thrift store prices, like when I went to Beacon’s Closet. This coming from a person who bought a stupid tank top from Express for $45 and never wore it. I shudder to think about all the money I wasted on overpriced and ill-fitting clothing. Oh, well. As Daenarys Targaryen would say, “If I look back, I am lost.”

Anyway, the dates for the Salvation Coat Sale are November 5, December 3, and January 7.

Also, good news! Due to popular demand, Housing Works is having two more Buy the Bag sales – hooray! November 19 and 26. Doesn’t look like I can make either date though 😕

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

5 responses to “Salvation Army Coat Sale

  1. lol@your comment on your handmedown coat from mel/kim. i’m still wearing coats i have from a decade ago. now that is something i got my $$s worth. that is the beauty of buying something classic. it never goes out of style.

  2. I am too excited for our shopping adventure this weekend! I’m gonna go lift some weights at the gym tomorrow and ready myself to carry a bunch of stuff!

    Great advice! I have 1 more tip to add- bring a sturdy, reusable shopping bag, it will probably come in handy.

  3. Pingback: Epic Girl Date « El Taco

  4. Pingback: EPIC GIRL DATE | El Brooklyn Taco

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
