Happy Halloween!

Growing up, my sisters and I were forbidden to participate in any type of Halloween activity. Our parents thought it was devil worship. So we were the only kids in the Halloween parade wearing normal clothes while everyone rocked out in costumes. One year, I rebelled and made Betty Rubble and Pebbles costumes for my sisters. I used large sheets of felt and hot glue to assemble. Good times. πŸ˜€ Candy was not forbidden though, so there was that.

Surprisingly, I never went nuts during Halloween even after my parents stopped caring about it. I never had a provocative animal costume or partied rain or snow like some friends did this past weekend. In fact, two years ago, ST and I bought Halloween costumes and still haven’t used them πŸ˜• Our door bell is also broken so we don’t greet any trick-or-treaters. Needless to say, ST and I are pretty lame around this time of year.

Halloween is for the kids – what’s better than dressing up in an awesome costume and gorging on candy? Nothing, that’s what. Seeing my favorite monster and cupcake enjoy themselves made my day. πŸ˜€

Yes, Kaitlyn is a cupcake underneath her big brother’s hand-me-down parka. Her hat is a cherry.


I was so relieved that Kaitlyn wore her costume. You see, when she first tried it on, she hated it. As in, I gently forced her into it, put the cherry hat on her head, and she ran away crying.

I love this wild child.

I’m looking forward to buying tons of candy on sale tomorrow πŸ˜€

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

3 responses to “Happy Halloween!

  1. ironically, my mom mentioned that about your anti-halloween/pagan holiday and i told her i was going to ask u about that, lol. their catholic school goes all out on this pagan holiday which i do find ironic but they have a huge fair. the parents donate prizes, candy, carnival games and we man the fair as each grade comes down to play the games, win tons of stuff, gorge themselves on cupcakes, cookies, brownies, do arts n’ crafts, get a picture taken, tattoos, spin art, guess the # of popcorn kernels in the humongous jar, etc. it is really fun for them and all the parents have to get dressed up. i’ve gone as a ny giants football player, cowgirl, devil (which i find incredibly funny at a catholic school), & catholic school girl (too many creepy looks from the menfolk imo). my pal talked me into going into the haunted house (the stage gets transformed) and i was scared, esp. as one mom that i am close to pulled me into this coffin. haven’t screamed that loud in ages, lol. the kids all had a blast and that’s what it is all about. of course, i ate all their kit kat but i digress…

    • The carnival sounds amazing! I would have loved it when I was her age. Lol about your Catholic school girl uniform, haha. It’s so cool you get into that with the kids. I have no idea why my parents made it out to be a “demonic holiday” but there’s absolutely nothing in the Bible about pagans and Halloween, obvs. It’s kind of ignorant, actually, but whatever – I turned out fine, I guess? Haha. I’m glad you guys had so much fun!

  2. lol @ her brother’s hand-me-down coat!

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
