Married in Paradise

The pictures from Kim and Tommy’s wedding photographer, Keoni Kitagawa, totally blew me away.

Are you ready… for this jelly?

Can you believe these were taken in a small hotel room?! Crowded with parents, friends, and bridesmaids? Yeah, didn’t think so. I love that they’re so pretty, feminine, and ethereal-looking. LOVE. Side note: Outfit details, for those curious cats out there – dress, David’s Bridal; veil, earrings, and hair flowers, Etsy; shoes, Stuart Weitzman.

Keoni is so creative. He got paper and pen and asked Kim to write a note to Tommy. The result? Pure joy.

I had to sneak in this picture of the baby sis. πŸ™‚

I’m so happy he caught this little detail – my red hair flower that I wore at my wedding and that Kim wore at hers. We both wore it with our Chinese dresses. Sisters are cute like that.

Allow me to introduce you to the girls – Badgley Mischka (reception), Diane von Furstenburg (pictures), and Stuart Weitzman (ceremony). Side note: These were purchased at the Saks Off Fifth outlet for $35 BEFORE she was even engaged! They were the perfect size and beyond perfect price… so… I bought them. As my vote of confidence. In my defense they’d been talking about marriage already! So what, a little crazy never hurt nobody. Actually, no that’s wrong. Hot lineup though, right?

Big brother ST bought this wedding day perfume for Kim. Tommy forbid her to wear it even once before the big day.

Keoni was great to work with! He is very professional and has a great eye for detail. He made sure to include everyone in the pictures. He also made everyone feel relaxed – he was so cheerful and funny.

Choosing vendors for a destination wedding was a bit of a challenge at first. Luckily, I’ve been reading Weddingbee since before ST and I started dating! Yup, guilty. πŸ˜› So, that was the first place I looked, since it was super helpful during my own wedding planning. I loved Mrs. Sushi’s wedding in Honolulu and after a few minutes of browsing her entries, I found her makeup artist – Beauty by May. After a quick email and mailing the contract and deposit, she was ours!

May was one of the best decisions made for this wedding – she’s delightful. Completely professional, sweet, and kind. We didn’t have trials because we didn’t have time or dough to spend so we sent her pictures of the looks we wanted. On the day of the wedding, she had all the pictures in her phone and referenced them during our makeup session. Everyone looked and felt glamorous.

Blindingly gorgeous, right? I know.

Side note: The bridesmaids wore BCBG dresses from the Lord & Taylor outlet scored for $48 each! I’d eyed these for my wedding once upon a time but the $300 price tag was too much. Kim gifted us these gorgeous earrings from Etsy.

Hotifying the mamas… even more 😎

Next up… everything else!

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

2 responses to “Married in Paradise

  1. how are the Badgley Mischka shoes? sometimes ideeli has them and they look so high. r they comfy? btw, next time you’re going to the saks outlet, give me a ring. the Badgley Mischka shoes were truly a steal! seen them for $200 & up! great deal, grasshopper! scored two ny giant’s breast cancer awareness tees for free from my modell’s rewards card. one for me and and one for my pal who is a survivor.

    • For the Badgleys, it depends. It’s basically a rule that stilettos with no platform will murder your feet. So Kim and I both got Badgleys with platforms and that helped a lot. I was able to wear my shoes almost for the whole night on my wedding. They’re pretty well made and I think they’re a good investment. I’m still learning, sensei πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
