$20 Date

ST and I are enjoying a four-day weekend thanks to Rosh Hashanah. We indulged ourselves by waking up late, catching up on TV (Awkward for me, sports for ST), and having brunch.

I am so glad Jenna chose Jake! Side note: Yes, I watch MTV and love it. My inner 15-year-old exults in teen drama.

I also finished A Dance with Dragons šŸ˜¦ I’m sad because it’ll probably be like 7 years before the next book comes out. Le sigh. I really enjoyed it – Martin is a genius. Every character, plot, and setting is woven with intricate details and eccentricities. Love it. I can’t wait until Season 2 of Game of Thrones airs šŸ˜€ I’ll probably re-read A Clash of Kings.

Cersei’s walk of atonement was one of my favorite parts. You have to love this character as much as you hate her. Another great character development has been Jaime’s – I missed the Kingslayer in this book. Side note: Spoiler alert, oops.

Then we attempted to have a $20 date in the West Village. The plan was to explore Christopher Street and just take a long walk in an unfamiliar neighborhood. Our standard go-to date whenever we don’t have anything in particular we want to do.

It was hot and sunny when we left the house so I slipped on a pair of cute leather sandals despite the weather report of an impending thunderstorm. My iPhone ALWAYS says its going to rain and never does. I didn’t want to be a sucker again so I left my cute boots at home. And my umbrella. You know where this is going.

Lo and behold, by the time we got out of the train station thirty minutes later, its pouring. Like, sheets. ARGH!

What the frack is with this weather?!

So we left the station to check out the situation. It was terrible. Definitely not walking, lovey-dovey weather. Without an umbrella and clad in leather sandals. So back into the station we went. Back to Sunset Park. Epic date fail šŸ˜¦

We were soggy.

We came home and lazed around for an hour or so reading blogs, checking news – being defeated. Then, ST decided we’d still have our $20 date. We decided to stay local and head to Nyonya on 8th Avenue.

Dubbed the “Brooklyn Chinatown,” 8th avenue has really come into it’s own. Fujianese immigrants have moved in over the past decade and opened various shops and restaurants. They’re not good restaurants, per se, but the area is bustling nonetheless!

I knew what I wanted before we even left the house: beef tripe noodle soup! Side note: I love that goofy smile.

Delicious chunks of beef tripe, lots of firm noodles, and plenty of curry soup laced with peanut sauce, I think. Hit the spot.

The best part? The bill, of course! $19 for the noodle soup, pad thai, and roti. Victory at last! I won’t count the watermelon bubble tea that I had after because it was $3 šŸ˜€

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
