Sacrifices

After purchasing three pairs of boots and being convinced by ST and several others to keep all three pairs, I thought my inner shopaholic would be satisfied for this season at least. Alas. The beast within cannot be tamed.

I check Ideeli kind of frequently just because I have a $25 referral credit and I want to use it. Today, they had this adorable bag that would cost a mere $55 shipped after applying my credit.

In an unprecedented display of restraint, I closed the window.

Even though I’d been looking for something like that, I decided not to buy it for the following reasons:

  • We want a house! ST and I have decided to include Mel into our homeowner plans – as in, we are buying a house together! This is an ingenious idea for several reasons, most notably – 1) larger down payment, 2)  being able to live together, and 3) free babysitting! in the future. Mel had one stipulation: she wants to live in the Sunset Park area. Initially, ST and I wanted to shop around in more affordable, up-in-coming areas such as Crown Heights, but we have to compromise. The houses here are very expensive, so every penny counts.
  • We need to reach our savings goal. We are a bit off in our savings goal. Things happen and that’s what savings are for but it still makes us feel a bit crummy to miss the mark. Buying a stupid albeit delightful bag won’t help that situation.
  • I should be shopping my closet. I own way too many bags. What I really need is a new wallet. Check out this moldy ol’ guy, purchased circa… 2005? I got it off eBay for $15 back in the day. Strangely, I can’t remember a time when I didn’t have this wallet. Weird.

Anyway, ST said something very insightful just now. As I was typing this post, he asked, “Are you typing a letter to our daughter?” To which I replied, “Aha! So you admit you want a daughter!” He’d previously declared for a muchacho. “No, you just write to a girl.”

I’d thought about this long ago, when I posted about the infamous Target boots. I can’t help it – this is me. It would be super weird for me to try to be gender neutral. Being yourself is what the Internet is all about 😀

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

2 responses to “Sacrifices

  1. i did some shopping therapy on ideeli and bought my first desigual tote. btw, how did u get a $25 referral quote? i’d like that. i did pay 30 cents at staples today buying a 5 pack of sharpie markers, some glue sticks and scotch tape when they emailed me saying that i haven’t used my $10 rewards coupon. kinda sweet! also saved $30 at toys r us by using my $5 tru rewards coupon, a $10 off $50 coupon and a buy 3 get one free promotion on tutus for colin’s friend’s upcoming bday party. bought his pal 2 tutus, a princess dress up set w/another tutu and a mario & luigi zip up hoodie for his bday. now that is sweet, too.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
