30 Minute Meals

Growing up, my mom was my Paula Deen, Rachel Ray, and Emeril. She could whip up a delicious meal in 30 minutes. We always had a nutritious dinner together every night. However, she did have this crazy/obnoxious rule about us not being allowed to drink anything until we were finished with dinner.

When I got married, I made it my mission to learn quick, (sometimes) healthy, delicious recipes that I could prepare for dinner. In high school and college, I used to be a terrible cook – too much oil, too much salt, too bland, too overcooked, etc. Now I think I’m at least proficient in the basics.

I love baking savory foods – potatoes, carrots, meats, pastas. One of my favorite things to make is of the meatloafy variety. After work today, I was suddenly inspired to make mozzarella-stuffed meatballs. Delicious? Check! Healthy? Um… sure!

After I Googling some inspiration, I got to work. Here’s the line up…

  • 1.5 lbs of lean ground beef
  • salt, basil, garlic salt, paprika
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • brown spicy mustard
  • fat-free mozzarella cheese
  • two eggs
  • a bunch of stale Italian bread, sliced

I decided to add two eggs instead of one and two meatloaf ingredients that I’ve never used in meatballs before – Worcestershire sauce and spicy brown mustard. I haven’t made a knockout meatball before so I figured some modifications couldn’t hurt.

I popped some stale bread into the blender to make bread crumbs. Saving stale bread = wasting less food + spending less. Woohoo!

Chop, food processor, purée… ét viola!

I unceremoniously dumped everything in…

…and mashed it all together.

Then, I cubed my cheese. We bought fat-free mozzarella cheese because it was on sale. Fat free cheese tastes funny – it’s harder and drier.

I grabbed a chunk of meat, pressed in a cube or two of cheese, and made a ball. Plunk down in the baking dish and repeat. I made twelve large meatballs.

I’ve tried making meatballs by baking and frying. I prefer baking because I can make them all at once. My biggest problem was that the meatballs would be too dry. So I shortened the baking time by 10 minutes and baked them at 350 for 25 minutes. they came out perfectly 😀

I assumed the blogging position while I waited…

Hello my pretties 🙂 Side note: It’s not necessary to grease the pan with olive oil. I don’t usually but this website suggested it. There was so much grease in the pan, yuck! This was AFTER I drained them:

This little guy looked like he was sticking his tongue out at me:

Mmm…

I’m not sure if it was the weird fat-free cheese, but I think I’ll nix the cheese in the future. The cheese hardened somewhat, which I didn’t like. Fat-free cheese notwithstanding, this recipe’s a winner!

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
