Disheveled & Disorganized

My work schedule changed slightly this year so that we start and end 45 minutes earlier. Although it wasn’t a drastic change, I’m still adjusting to it. I truly love my job – it’s where ST and I met and fell in love, it challenges me daily – but sometimes, I can’t handle it. My job requires a lot of initial investment in order to get things running smoothly; I’ve been staying late and burning myself out. Hence being disheveled and disorganized.

Check out what the closet looks like…

Can’t miss the two half-unpacked suitcases from our Hawaii trip over a month ago…

And my dresser. Side note: These pictures are dark because the bulb in our halogen lamp blew out and we haven’t gotten around to buying a new bulb. Sigh.

And I can’t bother with it right now. We came home and I plopped myself in front of the latest Teen Mom episode, paid some bills, and just decompressed.

ST made some delicious comfort food – chorizo, beans, and rice. I had two helpings 😀

I feel so guilty when I see how messy our apartment is but… I just can’t right now. So… tired… And this is just for two people. Imagine when you’re thrown into the mix. When I think about all the amazing moms in my life, I’m just baffled as to how they get all this stuff done – dinner, cleaning, organizing, and so much more.

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

One response to “Disheveled & Disorganized

  1. this is one of my fav quotes:
    …I would like to beg you dear Sir, as well as I can, to have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and to try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.

    Rainer Maria Rilke, 1903

    i spent many years feeling like a slacker mom because i didn’t volunteer at every school function, didn’t enjoy doing homework, didn’t read to them 20 minutes every day, didn’t always keep their nails clean & cut, etc. i kept asking myself, why am i such a bad mom, how come i am not satisfied with kids that are healthy & for the most part happy or how come i haven’t graduate yet & the list goes on. then i came across this quote while window shopping at barnes & noble and it dawned on me that i need to stop beating myself over the head with my questions and to just live them because some day i will live my way into the answer when i am ready. not when someone else says i’m ready but when deep in my heart i am ready. i’ve noticed that i have lived my way into the answer.

    so don’t worry if your home is a little messy. all our homes r messy because real people live in them and it is those same real people who live, love & lol. when the kids r afraid of getting their suitcase or sneakers dirty, i tell them a dirty suitcase means that it’s been well traveled & dirty sneakers mean you had fun running and having fun w/them. when it’s time for your family to grow, u will also live your way into the answer and u have lots of people who will show u the way, too.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
