Job

On September 11, 2001, I was a junior in high school. I was sitting in English class when the boy in front of me (I think his name was David) turned around and exclaimed, “They bombed the World Trade Center!”

I scoffed and said, “No – a plane hit one of the towers by accident. They’re definitely not bombing it.” It was an accident… it had to be.

Before the end of the school day, I ate those words. School let out early that day; students poured into the streets, hurrying home. Your grandparents live on the South Shore of Staten Island, opposite from the side that faces Manhattan but we could still see the smoke that choked the sky.

No one in our family worked there so it didn’t effect me personally, I guess. I remember there were countless posters plastered all over the bus that proclaimed friends and family members “missing.” We all knew they were dead, never to be found in the rubble downtown.

I remember I had ordered a movie poster for “Batteries Not Included” and the seller sent it to me for free because it was “a shame what they did to our beautiful city.”

In the past ten years, I’ve never reflected on 9/11. Today our new pastor, Bob, preached about God, suffering, and tragedy through the book of Job. This is one of my favorite books in the Bible. It’s depressing and raw, but very real. This man had everything – wealth, property, a large family – and in one fell swoop everything was taken from him.

To me, Job’s response represented something that was missing from my life – acknowledgment that God is sovereign. “The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” – Job 1:21

I can’t imagine losing everything I have, including my family, and being able to accept God’s sovereignty as if everything was okay and in its right place. That is simply incomprehensible. That is great faith.

These are some of my notes from Sunday school today.

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

3 responses to “Job

  1. I’m kind of with you on this one, I’ve had some super heavy conversations with my fiance about faith. Since his job is so dangerous, he’s really grappling with the issue of faith. Mostly he’s worried about starting a family when he knows that at any moment he could be taken away in the line of duty. Heavy stuff, but we’re working through it and I’m so thankful for the pre-marital counseling we’ve been doing with the minister.

    • Pre-marital counseling was one of the best decisions we made during our engagement. It was kind oddly like therapy, and it was so useful to talking out our goals, fears, and desires for the future. I’m really glad you guys are working through that stuff right now – that is so honest and scary. I think it’s really amazing that you guys acknowledge how dangerous his job is but continue to plan for a family. THAT’S faith.

  2. after that 8 year old boy was butchered while walking home from daycamp, i’ve been pondering something similar but what struck me was how forgiving his father was and he wasn’t out to condemn anyone but he focused on how blessed he was to have 8 years with his son. if that ain’t faith, i don’t know what is. his father’s response and faith was something remarkable among the midst of hatred and verbal bashing of the man who acted such an atrocity on a little boy but what does the media focus on??? all the hatred but i saw the silver lining in that tragedy and i was grateful for that lesson.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
