First Day of School

The first day of school makes me feel like a freshman all over again – excited and nervous. It went well but I still feel sad that summer is officially and definitely over 😦

I took a picture of my newly setup white board for my 365 project.

After work, I went to Staples to buy folders for fellowship tomorrow night. It was like an office supply apocalypse – the line wrapped around the entire store. I was so sad when I found out. Unfortunately, I needed those folders. So ST and I waited 45 minutes for 20 folders and some poster tape.

Funny story. One of my students was ahead of me on line. As she was paying, she realized she didn’t have enough money – she was short $27. So, she ran to me and asked me to lend her the money. Of course we lent it to her, poor kid. I went over budget all the time when I was her age.

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

3 responses to “First Day of School

  1. i love your classroom! so cute. were u going to teach them welding?? i’d like to learn how to weld. always wanted to take shop but the school wouldn’t let me cause i was in the advanced class. the black boots look nice. a great staple and classic look that will last you for years to come. i know, i sound like tim gunn. u r so nice to your students. sometimes i lend them my copy of the textbook if they can’t afford it. sometimes i get it back, sometimes not. one sold it back to the bookstore, one just disappeared and one ignored all my emails but needed to sit in on my class to make up her incomplete. i’m thinking if there is a minute chance that we will meet up again w/your grade in my hands, it’s best not to piss me off.

  2. btw, if u ever need anything from staples, let me know and i will pick it up for u after i drop the kids off at 8am. no line at staples at that hour & u can pick it up whenever you’re on si.

    • I was confused about your welding comment… until I looked at the picture again! lol! The topic is actually “Welcome” because we had freshmen orientation for two days. I wish I taught welding – I loved shop class in junior high. It was so fun and educational. They need to bring back shop class in the urban schools! Carlos and I waited so long for these folders, and we didn’t even use them.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
