Rainy Day Things

Today has been super gloomy. I woke up at 6:45 am because Bloomberg’s robots called me yet again. This time, it was Chancellor Walcott assuring me that I’d get paid for working at the evacuation centers. Great – where do I clock in?

I’m pretty sure my time is better spent at home with ST this weekend.

Most of the day has looked like this:

And most of the day, we looked like this:

I mostly worked on this year’s curricula while watching copious amounts of TV. Your grandpa has also been Face-timing us for updates on Brooklyn.

Then, I decided to make sausage meatball heroes for dinner. I use this simple recipe as a guide. I skipped the cheeses because we didn’t have any. I also liked that the recipe called for oats instead of bread crumbs since I always substitute oats for bread crumbs anyway.

I also used only one egg instead of two since we already had eggs this morning for brunch (I made scrambled egg spaghetti).

The great thing about using sausage for meatballs is you don’t need to season it at all. Everything is already in the sausage. So, just squeeze the sausage out of their intestinal casings (I love this part) and mash, mash, mash.

Then roll into cute little balls…

Drizzle some olive oil into the pan and gently place cute meatballs in. Lower the heat, cover, and flip as necessary.


While those cuties get cooked, I cut a loaf of some nice, crusty bread ST picked up from a shop on Fort Hamilton Parkway and 68th Street. I don’t know the name but the lady who works there is sweet as pie.

When the meatballs are almost done, toss in some sauce and cook for another 5 minutes. Finally, spoon meatballs and sauce into your bread. Ta da!

I thought it was just okay but ST loved it and devoured every crumb.

As the rain and wind picked up, our satellite signal started breaking up. ST was prepared though – he’d taped episodes of Family Guy, Futurama, Frasier, and various movies for me. He’s a handy guy to have around during a hurricane, the zombie apocalypse, or just any normal day 😀

I’m worried about tía Mel though. She’s an RN at NY Presbyterian. She’s working all weekend and due to Irene, she has to sleep at the hospital. Since we don’t have you yet, tía Mel is kind of our baby. Our 23 year old baby. She’s as tough as she is little so she’ll be fine, but we still wish she was hanging out with us during Irene’s rampage instead of out there 😦

So anyway, after dinner I started craving Nutella for some reason. Since we had some of tía Kim’s homemade pizza dough, I rolled out two little pizzas, baked them for 15 minutes at 375, spread Nutella on them, and baked them for another 5 minutes.

I don’t think I needed to bake it again – I think next time I’ll just slather the Nutella on and eat. It doesn’t look pretty but it was delicioso!

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
