Fancy Pants Camera

Your dad really wants a new camera. A fancy pants camera. A DSLR camera. I told him to wait until you come along since what’s the point? There’s nothing I want to take great pictures of except you. So for now, our trusty point and shoot will do. Also, our iPhones, of course : )

My master plan once you’re born is to create my own version of this wonderful project – a collection of weekly snapshots and notes about your cute baby progress.

At first, I thought about getting a “mega zoom” like the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ100 would be enough. Then, your Aunt Shirley recommended buying a DSLR because kids move faster than a point and shoot. The mega zoom is just a fancier point and shoot, so probably it won’t work.

So, I began my research using CNET’s DSLR buying guide. I think an interchangeable-lens, full system DSLR will work for us since we might want to pick up a wide-angle lens down the road.

Also according to CNET, we are “dabblers” so an entry to midlevel model will best suit our needs – under $1,000 and up to 15 megapixels. Sounds good to me! Side note: CNET is great because the editors film videos about gadgets and point out their pros and cons. Really helpful.

I used personal recommendations as my starting point for choosing actual models. While we were in Hawaii, I got to check out our friends’ DSLR cameras. Side note: It seems like once you get a DSLR, you’re a “photographer.” Just sayin’.

Your grandpa just got a Nikon D3100 – affordable and well-priced. I’m not sure if it’s him or the camera, but color balance seems particularly difficult to achieve, especially when compared to our friend Will’s Nikon D90. There is also an obvious difference in overall raw image quality.

It’s been said that the Canon EOS Rebel T3i might not be able to keep up with the sports or kids. Also, ST got me the Canon SD 780 in 2009 and it hasn’t been as durable as I’d hoped. Transport and sand has caused the lens cover to malfunction – sometimes it doesn’t open when I turn the camera on. Also, it might just be me, but the pictures look a bit fuzzier than they used to. Anyway, I gave that camera to tía Mel.

So our contenders are:

  1. Nikon D90
  2. Nikon D5100

It’s a short list. Hopefully better models will come out between now and then (about a year or so).

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
