The Cleanse, Day 7

We’re almost there!

So far in the cleanse, I have a lot more energy – I wake up earlier, sleep more soundly – but oddly, I feel more lethargic. These are my meals for Day 7:

  • Breakfast: One banana
  • Lunch: Protein shake with water only. Surprisingly, this is the best-tasting variation for me. The fruit just makes it taste grittier and it makes it go down slower.
  • Dinner: Tofu and veggie stir-fry

Dinner was a fail. The grandparents, tías, ST and I went out to Gia Lam, a Vietnamese restaurant in the part of Sunset Park that’s known as the Brooklyn Chinatown.

This place is okay. The service is fast and the food is yummy. The best Vietnamese food I’ve ever had was in Maryland during my college years. I’m sure we’ll make it out there with you one of these days.

Anyway, back to the dinner. I asked the waiter for the stir-fry with no MSG and very little oil and salt. He brought back what was probably how they do it usually – drenched in sauce and definitely laden with MSG. Even though I knew I wasn’t supposed to, I ate it anyway. I didn’t feel like sending something back and chancing getting my food spit on. Also, I was hungry and I only had one serving.

I immediately felt my stomach hurt a bit. It also got a bit puffy. No bueno. Plus, I’ve been full for about 5 hours now. Thanks MSG.

Tía Kim’s sweet coworkers threw her a potlock bridal shower and gave her all sorts of goodies.

Side note: Your dad bought the Mrs. Fields cookies. He LOVES chocolate. Seriously, sometimes he sleeps with chocolate next to him on the nightstand. Behold the evidence:

Anyway, I hope there are some of these delicious Brazillian bon bons left on Saturday when the cleanse is over:

And some of these yummy-looking Italian cookies:

Knowing ST’s sweet tooth though, I won’t get my hopes up too high.

The good news is, only three more days until the cleanse is over and only six more days until we land in beautiful Honolulu : )

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
