$20 Date

I love going on dates with ST. I especially enjoy cheap dates. When we were single, I didn’t care where we went or what it cost but now that we’re married, I’m more aware of how much we spend and on what. If we’re ever going to afford you, FB, sacrifices must be made.

And anyway, I find that I have more fun on cheap dates than on expensive ones. For example, ST decided to take me to Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill for our one month wedding anniversary. Since this was an expensive, fancy restaurant, I expected a lot. Long story short, I was disappointed with both the food and service and even the decor. You can read all about it in my Yelp review. The worst part was the $250 bill at the end of the night.

But, we were still happy about our one-month “milestone” : )

Today, your dad and I had an awesome $20 date. We started out on our bikes and headed toward Coney Island Beach on Ocean Parkway.

We decided on a spot right off Ocean Parkway, which was a good distance from all the craziness near the Wonder Wheel. This spot wasn’t crowded at all.

We packed a blanket, towels, and a cooler bag lunch for a little beach picnic. We sunbathed, went for a dip in the freezing cold water, and read.

We called it quits after four hours of lazing around and biked down to Nathan’s for lobster rolls. Your dad LOVES Nathan’s lobster rolls. Two lobster rolls and one medium lemonade set us back $17.

After our hearty repast, we took the train home since ST was lethargic from the heat – $0 because your Abuelo bought me the Metrocard and ST was using his monthly unlimited pass.

Perfect. I wouldn’t have changed a thing.

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

2 responses to “$20 Date

  1. Love, love, love a good cheap date! Our favorite cheap date night is unlimited quesadillas & sangria on Wednesdays at Barrio in Park Slope. So good and within walking distance of our apt. so transportation is free! Awesomeness 🙂

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
