Brooklyn Bridge

One of the best things about having out-of-towners visit is that I get to do touristy things that I secretly love, like walking across the Brooklyn Bridge.

I love the Brooklyn Bridge. First, because it symbolizes Brooklyn, the borough in which ST and I met and fell in love. Second, this is where we got our engagement photos done in May 2010. Third, its beautiful.

For July 4th, we decided to walk across the Brooklyn Bridge, all the way to 23rd Street along the West Side Highway to watch the fireworks.

There was a lady selling mangos on a stick so Abuela bought us some. Seriously, Mexicans think of some of the best food. I had my first mango on a stick with chili powder and lime juice. I got it all over my shirt but it was worth it.

Even though it was the 4th of July, the bridge wasn’t crowded. After we exited, we made our way toward the fireworks. ST and I watched the fireworks two years ago but due to reasons I can’t remember, it wasn’t worth the trek out to Manhattan. I think it was because we didn’t get a good spot. Anyway, I made sure to research good spots in advance and we ended up on 23rd Street at about 8 pm.

The fireworks didn’t start until 9:30 pm. By then, we were tired from being herded by the cops and from being packed into the street like sardines. But this time, it was worth it. The fireworks lit up the sky for 20 minutes. We didn’t really take any pictures because we were too busy watching, but hopefully you’ll see them someday.

ST got a part of it on video:

We will definitely recreate this day.

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
