AMNH

The American Museum of Natural History is one of my favorite places in NYC so when tía Ariel wanted to go yesterday, we went! It was also ST’s first visit. Here’s ST, Ariel, and Abuelo in the B train station:

As soon as you step off the train, you know it’s going to be a good time. The walls are tiled with mosaics of dinosaur and other long extinct organisms.

Can you imagine what it would be like to walk among dinosaurs? I took a picture under it for perspective.

Side note: The image on the left was taken by my trusty Canon Powershot SD780 IS (my Masters’ graduation present from ST) while the picture on the right was taken by my iPhone 4. I can barely tell the difference! I think it’s time for a new camera.

My favorite exhibits have always been the Hall of Biodiversity and the Hall of Ocean Life. The only picture I took was this crummy iPhone one of the blue whale:


We also saw the Hall of Mexico and Central America and Hall of South American Peoples. I was especially enjoyed the models of Amazonian life and the shrunken heads. They’re gross but fascinating. Shrinking the heads of your enemies is ingenious if you think about it.

We couldn’t resist picking this big guy’s nose.

My least favorite halls are the Halls of Minerals and Gems. Yawn.

We will definitely be coming here often.

About elbrooklyntaco

I'm a lover of urban living, thriftiness, and blogs! The concept behind this blog is to document the growth of our family and our adventures living in the concrete jungle of Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

wordpress analytics
